DJ Lilly gives us her picks!

Standard

I realized the other day that I never really tell you anything about myself. All you really need to know is that I am old enough to have grown up with boy bands blasting out of my stereo and young enough not to be blasting Neil Diamond or Wham; and that I am a huge fan of Christina Aguilera, Nick Lachey, TLC, Lacuna Coil, and Kelly Clarkson. My fave singer, since I was a kid, has been Shanice and I even got to meet her when I was 15 (along with Martina McBride and Olivia Newton-John). I also have mentioned in past blogs that I love Rihanna!

So I noticed that I have been kinda negative in my reviews lately, (mostly because I didn’t like the songs that were in the jukebox) but most of my reviews this week were positive (uh oh). I liked the Kelsey Rey songs that were in the jukebox last week, and I liked the “No Artist” songs that were in the jukebox this week as well. I have no idea who it is; but I am thinking they are boy-band related. I liked the Adam Watts and Yearling songs that were in the jukebox too. I also liked “You Are”, by Jason Castro and “Raise Your Glass” by Pink. I actually saw a tweet, by Ashley Tisdale from earlier today (Monday, Oct. 11), saying that she loves that song. I think Pink has another hit song on her hands.

It was nice to hear Five Finger Death Punch in the jukebox, we need more hard rock in there (except it wasn’t too hard this week). I have never really cared for Cake and their new single, “Sick Of You” still didn’t make me a fan. I really liked Matisse and Akon’s song “Better Than Her” that was in the jukebox last week. I thought “Not Alone” by Sara Bareilles was OK, give it some time to grow on me.

My favorite song of the week goes to “Desperate Boys and Stupid Girls” by Kimberly Caldwell. She did a cover of an Alana Grace (who is a good friend of mine) song earlier this year and I didn’t really like it (great song; but it just didn’t go well with her voice and it was hard for me to like an Alana song, not being sung by Alana-lol). I think this song is really good though (because boys can be desperate and girls can be stupid) and I hope it becomes a radio hit!

What song in the jukebox do you want to become a radio hit? Shoot me an e-mail and let me know! You can also write me with any other song you want my opinion on – I love hearing from you guys! Also, stop by the station’s website and show your support for the best radio station on the net! You can tune in to our DJs on Sundays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 9 p.m. Eastern! We are huge supporters of HitPredictor too! See you next week, where I will have plenty more to say and more songs to rate! – DJ Lilly, Owner of Resolution Radio (hewitt_fanatic@musician.org)

12 thoughts on “DJ Lilly gives us her picks!

  1. Lilly

    and for anyone wondering, “Mess Of You” was the Alana song that she covered. Be sure to listen to both versions! (Alana’s and Kim’s)

  2. Rock Music Chick

    I know your gonna shoot me for this… But I like Kim’s version much more than Alana’s original. Although at the time of hearing Alana’s recently I had forgotten it was her song and that it wasnt a Kim original. That said I do like the songs by Alana that I’ve heard so far. I’m a big P!nk fan but I have to say although I like the new song she has out but I’m not loving it. I prefer her previous stuff. This new one just lacks that edge and something special. I agree that we need more hard rock in the jukebox heck we need more any kind of rock in the jukebox. Less crappy hip hop, less cheesie pop (we need good pop music too), much less norah jones songs, less r&b stuff and 10 gazillion songs by one artist lol. As for other tracks mentioned in post didnt care enough about them or like them to comment. Cant wait for the next post.

    • Lilly

      kim doesn’t have the voice for alana’s song and there are two versions of the alana version – she redid it. i actually have never met anyone that likes kim’s version better; so this is a first.

    • Lilly

      btw, kim is talented; just don’t like her on that particular song :). anyway, alana made my top 50 with “mess of you” in 2008 at number 40 and kim will be on my list this year with the same song (not as high though).

Leave a comment