Hidden song contest winners!


Thanks to everyone that took part in our hidden song contest this week! It’s fun to see new members joining in each week, taking advantage of the opportunity to earn some well-deserved bonus points for prizes!

Every member that correctly reported a song by the 3 p.m. EDT deadline today was given a 25-point reward per song and an entry for each song’s 250 point bonus drawing! We had a last-minute addition to the hidden song contest just this morning, so a few members found all FOUR tracks and ended up with 100 point wins!

The winners of the four 250-point giveaways were HitPredictor members bex04, MARTHAM, silverdawgs, and bunky123. Congratulations!

This week’s hidden songs were Goldfrapp’s “We Radiate”, “We No Speak Americano” by Yolanda Be Cool, Seal’s “If I’m Any Closer.” and the late add Buckcherry’s “Dead.” Thanks to sweetness_20011, mangofreako, trevorstrain269, and bobbysuehs for the nominations!

We again had so many good nominations that will have FIVE brand new members’ tracks going into the jukebox tomorrow. So make sure to check back to find out what the new songs will be, and give us your feedback on them! After all, these tracks were nominated because someone out there thought they had the potential to be a hit, and we want to know if you agree!

So, let’s get ready for next week! We need your nominations! Remember, if we use your song, whether it’s in the hidden song contest, or just added as a member’s pick just because we want to test whether it has hit potential, you will earn a 25-point reward! So, keeping that in mind what do you think deserves some jukebox time? A new track from your favorite artist or something you heard in passing on the radio? You can submit your suggestions here on our Facebook page, or e-mail me directly at maijaliisa [at] hitpredictor.com!

Please submit your top two picks only and make them the best ones you know!

Hear new music first – HP

Bruno Mars makes it four straight weeks; Taylor Swift sets new record on Hot 100


Bruno Mars continues to hold on to the top spot, recording his fourth straight week at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 with his debut single “Just the Way You Are.”

Taylor Swift made the biggest entry on the chart this week with her title track from her upcoming album “Speak Now.” Billboard reports that Swift’s arrival at No. 8 this week makes her the title holder for the most top 10 debuts in the history of the Billboard Hot 100; “Speak Now” is her sixth title to enter the top 10 in its debut week. The former record holder was Mariah Carey, who had five entries into the top tier between 1995-98.

The rest of the Billboard Hot 100 includes:

  • At No. 2, “Like a G6,” Far East Movement
  • At No. 3, “Just a Dream,” Nelly
  • At No. 4, “Teenage Dream,” Katy Perry
  • At No. 5, “DJ Got Us Fallin’ in Love,” Usher feat. Pitbull
  • At No. 6, “Only Girl (In The World),” Rihanna
  • At No. 7, “Dynamite,” Taio Cruz
  • At No. 8, “Speak Now,” Taylor Swift
  • At No. 9. “Club Can’t Handle Me,” Flo Rida feat. David Guetta
  • At No. 10, “Love the Way You Lie,” Eminem feat. Rihanna

So how did Glee do this week? Well, the cast officially upped their one-week high of six debuts a week ago with SEVEN new entries this week. The lead debut was the Glee cast’s cover of the Beatles’ “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” which came in at No. 36.

Are any of these singles on heavy rotation in your playlist? If so, which ones?

Hear new music first – HP

American Idol winner DeWyze debuts lead single from “Live It Up”


Lee DeWyze officially premiered his post-Idol debut single yesterday on the Ryan Seacrest show called “Sweet Serendipity,” which will be included on his debut album Live It Up scheduled to be released Nov. 16.

The song itself is much more polished than the gruff vocals Idol viewers were accustomed to. MTV describes it as being “full of Que Sera Sera sentiments and a sunny sundry of piano chords and multi-tracked vocals.”

MTV’s review says “‘Serendipity’ represents a shift from the sound of his first two indie albums, 2007’s So I’m Told and ’09’s Slumberland; instead, it’s very much a Hot A.C.-leaning tune in the same vein as radio smashes like Jason Mraz’s ‘I’m Yours’ or Train’s ‘Hey Soul Sister.'”

The American Idol winner was busy recording tracks for Live It Up while he was on the show’s “American Idols Live!” tour this summer. He also reportedly worked with several big time producers on the project including Toby Gad, John Shanks, and the Norweigan team Espionage.  The majority of the album was co-written by DeWyze.

In a statement DeWyze said: “I’m exited for all the people who supported me throughout ‘Idol’ to hear what I can do with my own songs. The album shows a whole different side of me, and I’m so proud of it.”

Are you excited to hear DeWyze’s new single? Do you plan on buying his album?

Hear new music first – HP

Ke$ha announces new album “Cannibal” to be released Nov. 22


Are you ready for some new music from Ke$ha?

Yesterday the singer announced she will release a new disc Nov. 22 called Cannibal, which is a nine-song “companion” to her debut album Animal.

MTV reports that Ke$ha has taken a cue straight out of the Lady Gaga guidebook as Cannibal will be sold both as a standalone release and as part of a deluxe reissue (just as The Fame Monster was). The bundled reissue will be called Animal + Cannibal.

Cannibal will reportedly feature eight brand-new songs. A press release from her label said producers including Max Martin, Benny Blanco, and Bangladesh were all involved in the project, which also includes a new remix. The first single “We R Who We R” will start getting airplay today and will be up on HitPredictor soon!!!

In a prepared statement Ke$ha said: “This year has been carnivorous and life-changing. I have my rowdy, gorgeous fans to thank for taking me on the ride of a lifetime. My only goal with this record is to keep them dancing. The songs on Cannibal were made to inspire people to ignore any hate or judgment and be themselves unapologetically. It’s the perfect companion toAnimal and I hope you guys like it. And if you don’t like it — bite me.”

All in all it’s great timing for Ke$ha, who released news of the upcoming album the day after her three nods for the upcoming AMAs were announced, which will drop the day after the AMAs air (Nov. 21).

Are you excited to hear news of a new Ke$ha album? Will you be buying the new Cannibal as a single unit or will you be ponying up for the deluxe reissue of Animal + Cannibal?

Hear new music first – HP