Nina’s weekly wrap shows she’s liking more and more country without really liking country ;)


Guest blogger and HitPredictor member Nina C. reports on the new music finds and what she liked and didn’t like in the jukebox each week atHitPredictor. Many of these songs are still available so make check them out and let us know whether you agree or disagree! And, make sure you check out Nina’s other blog, TwilightNera’s Entertainment Hotspot for other news in the entertainment world!

This week was another hit and miss week at HitPredictor. Some songs were really good and some songs were bad, but that’s the usual around here right? I really liked “Talking to the Moon” and “Grenade” by Bruno Mars. His music is a really good blend between pop and R&B and they are really well written. It was because of HitPredictor that I ordered his freshman album from the prize store and I cannot wait to get it!

“Elevator” by David Archuleta is a sweet and catchy pop song that’s enjoyable. “What’s my Name” by Rhianna feat. Drake is also a really good pop and R&B collaboration that I think it will be a hit for both artists.

“Tonight Tonight” was a fun pop song; I just wish I knew who sang it.  Far From Home” by Five Finger Death Punch had real depth to it. They usually produce really good rock music and they’re one of the few rock groups I think produce real music.  “A Little Bit Stronger” by Sara Evans is a really powerful and beautiful song. I’m not big on country but she has a beautiful voice.  “Dear John” by Jessie James has good lyrics and strong vocals. It’s country music but I was happy the twang wasn’t in it.

I didn’t like “Yeah 3x” by Chris Brown; it was way too commercial and he can produce better. I tried to like Pink’s “Raise Your Glass” this week but it just sounds like something Ke$ha would make.   R. Kelly way overdid it in “When a Women Loves.” He tried to sound old school but it just sounds over dramatic and silly.

That’s it for the week.  What songs did you like or didn’t like this week?

Sugarland captures top spot with “The Incredible Machine”


Country duo Sugarland has nabbed the No. 1 spot on the Billboard 200 this week with The Incredible Machine, which sold 203,000 copies last week according to Billboard.

The No. 2 album, Come Around Sundown by Kings of Leon also had a huge sales number, moving 184,000 units in its first week as well.

However, Billboard doesn’t predict either of these have a shot at No. 1 next week because of the release of Taylor Swift’s Speak Now on Monday. Industry prognosticators are expecting Swift’s latest effort to move anywhere between 800,000-900,000 copies in its debut week, with a shot at 1,000,000 not out of reach!

Despite that, Kings of Leon have reason to celebrate as Come Around Sundown sets the bar for the group’s highest charting album and best sales week.

The rest of the Billboard 200 top 10 this week includes:

  • At No. 3, The Union, Elton John and Leon Russell, 80,000
  • At No. 4, Fly Me To The Moon, Rod Stewart, 79,000
  • At No. 5, I Am Not A Human Being, Lil Wayne, 65,000
  • At No. 6, Glee: The Rocky Horror Glee Show, soundtrack, 48,000
  • At No. 7, Sale El Sol, Shakira, 46,000
  • At No. 8, Recovery, Eminem, 43,000
  • At No. 9, Move, Third Day, 37,000
  • At No. 10, Charleston, SC 1966, Darius Rucker, just under 37,000

Did you buy any albums this week? If not, do you have plans to make any album purchases in the near future?

Hear new music first – HP

New Black Eyed Peas, Kings of Leon & more at HitPredictor!


Happy Wednesday to you! We have some brand new Black Eyed Peas, Kings of Leon, Sugarland, and Fantasia to help get you over the hump and closer to the weekend slide. So check out which brand new tracks we’ve got below waiting for you to rate in the HitPredictor jukebox right now! Sneak a peek, have a listen, and let us know what you think of their hit potential!

The Black Eyed Peas have released the first single from their upcoming album The Beginning, which is a track called “The Time (The Dirty Bit)” inspired by the hit song “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” made famous in the movie “Dirty Dancing.” THE BEP’s have cleverly made over this ‘80s classic, giving it an over-the-top dance party vibe. Do you think this robotic-infused club anthem has the potential to make this track a cross-generational radio hit?

New from the Kings of Leon’s fifth studio album Come Around Sundown “The Immortals” has been described as “perhaps the best track on the album” because of its cool, modernized and jazzy beat with heavy guitar-driven choruses. Do you think this ballad with choruses that build into a crescendo has the potential to be a charting hit for these southern-rock brothers?

New from Sugarland’s recent album release The Incredible Machine, the country music act continues to surprise fans and shake things up with “Little Miss.” This acoustic track starts softly but shifts quickly into a fist-pumping chorus as Nettles encourages a young woman struggling with her quirks to look at them as individuality rather than problems to hide. Do you think this is a standout track that will be a hit for this creative duo? Is it one you want to hear on the radio?

Fantasia’s latest single from her recent release Back To Me is appropriately titled “I’m Doing Me” which seems to be an especially appropriate track as the singer recovers from her recent suicide attempt. This new single features Fantasia convincing herself that she’s above the drama of a bad relationship, noting that she’s going to focus on herself uncannily  singing that “Life’s too short damn short to live unhappily.” Do you think this R&B track, which is so reflective of the singer rebuilding her life will be a major hit for the American Idol winner?

As you check out these new tracks at HitPredictor make sure you take note of any hidden songs you come across, and submit them by 3 p.m. Eastern Thursday, Oct. 28 for some bonus points!

Hear new music first – HP

Adam Lambert confirms new acoustic set to drop in just a few weeks


Adam Lambert has announced that he will be releasing an acoustic album in the next few weeks “around Thanksgiving time” in an interview with Dylan Lewis, an Australian TV personality.

Billboard reports in the interview Lambert confirmed: “There is going to be an acoustic CD. I don’t have an exact release date. Probably around Thanksgiving time —  November, December.”

In the interview Lambert said the acoustic tracks have been recorded while he was on the road, promoting his debut album For Your Entertainment. He said “We went around Europe in the earlier part of this year…and we did a lot of promo, so I had Monty my guitar player, and my drummer at the time. We just did very stripped-back versions of the songs, then we also recorded some of the stuff from the actual Glam Nation tour, so it’ll be a mix of both.”

When asked about new material Lambert confirmed “there’s a new album that’s def being theorized…I have things that I’m writing down, little notes that I’m writing here and there, but nothing’s started yet on it. But hopefully it’ll be out by the spring or summer of next year.”

Are you anxious to hear acoustic remixes of tracks from FYE? Or, are you more excited at the prospect of new material next year?

Hear new music first – HP