American Idol Scotty McCreery Signs Huge Record Deal

Standard

“American Idol” winner, Scotty McCreery is not wasting any time getting his career started. It’s just over a week since he was crowned the champ of Fox’s singing competition show, “American Idol,” and now he’s signing a major-label record deal with Mercury Nashville/ 19 Recordings/ Interscope.

The album is expected to be highly successful because of how great McCreery’s debut single is doing on the charts. “I Love You This Big” hit Billboard‘s Hot Country Songs chart at #32 last week, the best first-week showing since the magazine started using Nielsen’s BDS-based data in January 1990. The song also hit #1 on iTunes and #3 on the Billboard Digital Songs chart.

“I am humbled and shocked by this news,” McCreery said in a statement. “I can’t tell you what it means to me to be on the same charts as my musical heroes. I want to thank my fans and especially country radio for their support. I continue to be amazed by everything that has happened to me in such a short time.”

Working on the still untitled album is not the only thing that the 17-year-old Country star has on his plate, however. McCreery will be a presenter at the CMT Music Awards on Wednesday. In addition, he’ll make appearances at a number of CMA Music Festival activities this week, and on Friday, he’ll have his Grand Ole Opry debut with a performance on “The Tonight Show with Jay Leno” to follow on June 15.

Scotty told MTV News that he has no plans to stray from his Country roots and that he would not turn into “Country Bieber.” “It’s gonna be a good ol’ country album,” McCreery said. “I like to have that old flavor in my music, but with a contemporary feel, so we’ll see where that leads me. I think it’ll be a good little mix.”

Hear New Music First – HP

One thought on “American Idol Scotty McCreery Signs Huge Record Deal

  1. Jo-Anne Wood

    I am from Canada and we travelled to Salt Lake City to see the opening Idol Live Tour show and it certainly was worth the trip! Something to note though, I know there are no plans to have Scotty and Lauren do a duet on Scotty’s first album, but I can tell you that the chemistry those two have together live is just the same as it was on TV and you should consider letting them record the You Say it Best (When you say nothing at all) song on Scotty’s debut album. The fans will eat (or should i say buy) it up! Thnaks for listening.

Leave a Reply

