‘American Idol’ Contestants Honor Their Personal Idols

Standard

Last night the top 13 performed songs by their personal idol’s. I liked this challenge! The contestants also got to work with Jimmy Iovine of Interscope records, who will serve as their ‘in house mentor’. Each singer also got to record a version of their chosen song with a producer from Interscope (and these we’re some big name producers).

The show opened with Lauren Alaina singing ‘Any Man of Mine’. It was a good rendition but very karaoke! Next up was Casey Abrams singing Joe Cocker’s “With A Little Help From My Friends.” He did a fabulous job, but his producer kept saying he should ‘reinvent the song’ and it sounded like a pretty straight forward rendition to me!

Up next were Ashton Jones and Paul McDonald. Yawn. I didnt like either performance and although I like Paul and his super white teeth, I wont cry if either one of these contestants get the boot.

Pia Toscano tackled ‘All by Myself’ by Celine Dion and really wowwed me. Love her!!

I liked Haley Reinhart’s ‘Blue’ by LeAnn Rimes, but it was a little boring. It reminded me of wedding music or background music at a cocktail party! lol

Jacob Lusk took on R. Kellys ‘I Believe I Can Fly’ (I love ‘Spacejam’ the movie!) with a gospel choir. Thia Megia and Stefano Langone were up next and were not my favorites and Karen Rodriguez SERIOUSLY disappointed when she took on the Selena classic ‘I Could Fall in Love’. Scotty McCreery sang a Garth Brooks rendition of “The River” that I loved, but maybe that’s because I loveee Garth Brooks. Naima Adedapo closed up the night with some reggae Rihanna… I wasnt feeling it and neither were the judges. They noted her pitchiness but hailed her “flavor.”

Anyway here are my predictions for tonight…

Pia is totally safe, Casey will sail through and Scotty will be moving on too… What do ya’ll think?!

Keep watching!

Hear New Music First – HP

Leave a Reply

