DJ Lilly gives her picks – who was her winner this week?

Standard

If I ever hear a Norah Jones song again, it will be way too soon. The past few weeks have been taken up by way too much of her music. I am hoping there is light at the end of this tunnel.

One song I was going to review last week is “Maybe” by Sick Puppies; I actually thought it was pretty good. I also liked some of the Kat Deluna tracks that were in the jukebox recently. My brother loves the song “In For The Kill” by La Roux; but I just wasn’t feeling it. I do think it could be another hit though. A good friend of mine is really into Christina Perri’s song, “Jar of Hearts.” The song isn’t in the jukebox any more (it was a few weeks ago), but I thought I would give my opinion on it anyway. I love the lyrics and I love the melody and I hope the song catches on and becomes a huge hit.

I loved the Glee Cast’s version of “Empire State of Mind.” I thought they did an awesome job. I liked Cee-Lo’s “Forget You/F U”; but the unedited version is so much better! If you are going to listen to a song like that, no point in listening to an edited version. I liked Alex Goot’s “Apple of My Eye”, but I am not sure yet if it will become a hit or not. The Green Children songs were definitely something different, I kinda liked some of them. It was also nice hearing something new from Rob Zombie, even though it wasn’t necessarily “good.” I liked Matt Hires’ “A to B” and I hope it becomes a hit too.

I have never really been a fan of Train, but their songs aren’t usually too bad. The lead singer’s voice just annoys me sometimes (in certain songs). I think “Marry Me” will be another hit song for them. Another song I wasn’t quite feeling is the new My Chemical Romance song, “Na Na Na.” I didn’t think it lived up to the band’s full potential. It seems to be doing OK on Billboard though (Top 20 on Alternative, Top 50 on Rock). I just wasn’t feeling “Magdalena” by Brandon Flowers and I didn’t think it was as good as “Crossfire”; but I do wish him much success in his future career. Selena Gomez’ “Rock God” was OK; but I prefer songs like “Round & Round” and “A Year Without Rain.”

Last, but certainly not least, one of my favorite songs in the jukebox this week was Karmina’s “Slow Down” (which I submitted). I think they are a talented indie band with music that is very different than other stuff you hear on the radio. Their 2008 song, “The Kiss” became a pretty well known song, based on the music video alone (which featured Amanda Ireton from MTV’s “A Shot At Love”). I write song lyrics and I really like the lyrics of “Slow Down” and the music is pretty good too. I think it’s time to get something different on the radio and I really hope that this song makes it (or any future song by these talented ladies). They made it to number 20 on my Top 50 in 2008, and they made it to DJ Isis’ Top 10 that same year. This year will be their return to the countdown. If you want to tune into the countdown, and find out what this year’s No. 1 will be, the show begins at 8:30 p.m. EST on December 26th. In the meantime, keep it tuned to Resolution Radio every Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday night at 9 p.m. Eastern and please participate in the contest starting December 1st! Oh yes, and if you want me to rate a specific song (or artist), all you have to do is e-mail me! – DJ Lilly (hewitt_fanatic@musician.org)

4 thoughts on “DJ Lilly gives her picks – who was her winner this week?

  1. i thought i would point out that most of my reviews for the week were on the secret list, so i couldn’t post them :(. i promise they will be in next week’s blog though!

Leave a comment