New Dr. Dre, Jay-Z collaboration leaks

Standard

The Dr. Dre/Jay-Z collaboration “Under Pressure” officially leaked on the Internet last night, with Rap Radar posting the full, unfinished version (the song isn’t mixed or mastered and has no chorus).

Dr. Dre first discussed the collaboration in April in an interview with CNBC saying at that time the track would be released in a few weeks. However, its unlikely he actually meant the unfinished version leaking online.

Here’s the track breakdown (courtesy of Billboard.com):

“The long-await to ‘Detox’ trick, ’cause maybe I don’t want to stop, maybe I don’t want to quit…maybe we need to breathe some life in this shit / maybe we are the life of this shit,” Dre starts his verse over an elevating piano. “I smoke, I drink, I’m supposed to stop but I can’t,” he continues towards the end of the song.

“I don’t know if it’s the goose talking, but you know they say the liquor get the truth talking,” Jay-Z spits on his verse. “I’m in this party, I’m up to no good / and I should be ducking this club, Tiger Woods.” Jay also goes on to cite troubled sports player Gilbert Arenas, rapping, “All these little haters got me back with the nina / Got me bringing guns to work, Gilbert Arenas.”

According to MTV.com, “Under Pressure” isn’t the only Detox song to leak. An unfinished track featuringn T.I. and Nas was bootlegged last year, as was a song with R. Kelly and 50 Cent that turned into Before I Self Destruct‘s “Could’ve Been You.”

As far as the rest of the long-talked about Detox album, despite Dre saying just a couple of months ago “I’m definitely putting an album out this year, finally,” rumors are now circulating that it won’t be out until 2011.

What do you think of the unfinished, leaked version of “Under Pressure”?

Hear new music first – HP

Leave a comment